75 Lower Parriwi Road, The Spit, Mosman NSW 2088
T: (02) 9969 1244 | E: info@mhyc.com.au
Donate here to help upgrade the clubhouse & facilities

MHYC Team claims the 2023 Waitangi Cup

Congratulations to Team NSW from Middle Harbour Yacht Club, winners of the 2023 Adams 10 Waitangi Cup.

After four races sailed in fresh to strong conditions on Saturday and the final two races today in moderate breezes, the NSW team of skippers Garth Riley, Brian Lees and Tracy Richardson finished ahead of the Victorian team by 8 points. 

A draw was made for each of the six boats provided by MHYC members but one of the boats was unable to start due to unforeseen rigging problems.  Three VIC boats then sailed against two NSW boats, with the results of the worst placed VIC boat discarded.  NSW had a narrow advantage overnight but when Garth Riley and Brian Lees placed 1-2 in the first race today there was no question about the result.

At the prizegiving at MHYC afterwards, organiser Geoff Charters thanked the Victorian teams skippered by Monica Jones, Andrew Clark and William Sheers, the MHYC Race Management Team led by RO Steve Tucker and Marg Fraser-Martin for recording the event with her camera.

For more information about the event, results and photos, visit the event webpage.

Photos by Marg Fraser-Martin